Across many NSW Government agencies and organisations, Disability Employee Networks (DENs) and other resource groups are active and open to people working in the public sector who have a disability or who want to be a champion for disability awareness and support.

The NSW Public Service Commission works alongside DENs and their members to ensure that the public sector is accessible and inclusive for people with disability. DENs are a place where employees can feel safe to disclose their disability, share knowledge, raise awareness and champion inclusive change.

The different DENs across NSW Government also come together fortnightly for the DENconnect forum. DENconnect is open to anyone in the public sector and aims to provide a safe, open space to share updates on disability focused activities, networks and initiative’s being developed at an agency level. By connecting employees with disability to each other, a collective shift can be made towards a greater culture of inclusion across the public sector.   

Disability Employment Networks available in the public sector  

Agency/Cluster Chair Name Chair contact email
Department of Communities and Justice Jacqueline Duncan DENInquiries@facs.nsw.gov.au
NSW Police Rana Al-Hinti ALHI1RAN@police.nsw.gov.au
Department of Customer Service Annette Keay abilityDCS@customerservice.nsw.gov.au
NSW Health Peter Chapple peter.chapple@health.nsw.gov.au
NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment Caroline Myers caroline.myers@dpie.nsw.gov.au
NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment Ann-Marie Mahony ann-marie.mahony@planning.nsw.gov.au
Department of Premier and Cabinet Caroline Page
Isabella Wooolley

dain@dpc.nsw.gov.au

Transport for NSW Dwayne Fernandes Dwayne.fernandes@transport.nsw.gov.au
Department of Education

Chair: Gabrielle Koens

Deputy Chair: Mark Kunach
 

GABRIELLE.KOENS@det.nsw.edu.au

mark.kunach@det.nsw.edu.au

NSW State Library Michael Carney michael.carney@sl.nsw.gov.au
NSW State Library Rebecca Acton Rebecca.acton@sl.nsw.gov.au
NSW Treasury

Michael Rolik

Michael Miller

michael.rolik@treasury.nsw.gov.au

michael.miller@smallbusiness.nsw.gov.au

If you do not see your agency or cluster represented in the list above, please contact your HR team to see what is available. You can also consider setting up your own DEN by joining the DENconnect online forums to learn how.