PSC Advisory Board

The Premier appointed the following Public Service Commission Advisory Board members:

  • Professor Peter Shergold AC (Chair)
  • Sandra McPhee AM
  • Vince Graham
  • Susan Lloyd-Hurwitz
  • Jordan O'Reilly
  • Tim Reardon (Secretary, Department of Premier and Cabinet)
  • Michael Pratt (Secretary, The Treasury)
  • Emma Hogan (Public Service Commissioner)

Biographies of the external member of the Advisory Board are as follows:

Peter Shergold AC (Chair) is Chancellor of the University of Western Sydney and Macquarie Group Foundation Professor at the Centre for Social Impact. For two decades he was a senior public servant in the Australian Public Service, serving from 2003-2008 as Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. He is a Director on the Boards AMP and Corrs Chambers Westgarth and, in the NFP sector, of the National Centre of Indigenous Excellence, the Sydney Writers’ Festival and the National Centre for Vocational Education Research.

Sandra McPhee AM is a Director on the Boards of AGL Energy Ltd, Fairfax Media Ltd and Kathmandu Holding Ltd. She is a member of the Advisory Council of J.P Morgan and Chairman of St Vincent’s and Mater Health Advisory Council.  She is also a member of Chief Executive Women and Women Corporate Directors and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.  She has extensive international executive leadership experience in consumer roles with major international brands, most recently at Qantas Airways. In 2013, Sandra was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to business and to the community through leadership and advisory roles. In 2003, Sandra was awarded the Centenary Medal for her contribution to the community through business leadership. Sandra is also the author of 'Unlocking Potential' a Contestability Review of Australian Public Service Workforce Management published in May 2016

Vince Graham is a Director of the Australian Rail Track Corporation Board. He retired as Chief Executive Officer of Ausgrid, Endeavour Energy and Essential Energy in December 2015 having led the NSW Government’s electricity network reform programme since July 2012. Vince was first appointed to a Chief Executive role in September 1986 as Managing Director of the Grain Handling Authority.  He spent ten years as Managing Director of the National Rail Corporation, five years as Chief Executive of RailCorp and four years as CEO of Endeavour Energy.  His leadership career has been in State and Commonwealth owned corporations where his role was to lead strategic reform to improve the safety, customer service and efficiency of capital and operating programmes.

Susan Lloyd-Hurwitz is the CEO and Managing Director of Mirvac. Prior to this appointment she was Managing Director at LaSalle Investment Management and has held senior executive positions at MGPA, Macquarie Group and Lend Lease Corporation, working in Australia, the US and Europe. Susan is also President of INSEAD Australasian Council and a Director of the Green Building Council of Australia.

Jordan O'Reilly is the CEO and co-founder of Hireup. With over six years’ experience in establishing and growing both not-for profit and for-profit disability service providers, Jordan has spent much of his adult life working in the Australian disability sector. He was awarded the NSW Young Carer of the Year Award in 2011, the Rotary Community Service Award in 2012 and the Sydney University Faculty of Health Science Leadership award in 2013. Jordan has also been awarded the Foundation for Young Australians Changemaker of the Year Award 2014, a Myer Foundation Innovation Fellowship in 2015, Sydney University’s Young Alumni Achievement Award 2015 and NSW State Finalist, Young Australian of the Year Award 2015. 

Tim Reardon was appointed as the Secretary of the Department of Premier and Cabinet in late 2017. He is responsible for leading the public service in NSW and driving the Government’s services, infrastructure and reform priorities. Prior to his appointment Tim was the Secretary, Transport where he successfully led the Transport Cluster and its 25,000 people on behalf of the NSW community. Tim led the development and delivery of the largest transport infrastructure and services pipeline in a generation, with over $41bn of capital works over a four year period. He was also accountable for better integration across transport services, implementing technology and innovation to improve customer service, and driving reforms and long term planning to make the transport system more customer-focused and efficient. The NSW transport system now delivers far greater service levels for a fast growing population and economy across the State, and customer satisfaction is at an all-time high. Tim has 27 years’ experience working in both government and the private sector in NSW and internationally. He is a born and bred New South Welshman and lives in Sydney with his wife Lorna and two daughters.

Michael Pratt AM is the 27th Secretary of NSW Treasury and NSW Industrial Relations. As Secretary, Michael is responsible for strategic management of the entirety of the State’s finances, budget, assets, liabilities and financial risk management framework and transformation. Prior to his role with Treasury, Michael was the NSW Customer Service Commissioner, where he revolutionised the way the Government delivers services - putting the people of NSW at the heart of service delivery. He led major service reform across the NSW Government, chairing the NSW Customer Advisory Board - the responsible governance entity for the delivery of State Government services to the citizens of NSW. Prior to his role as Customer Service Commissioner Michael was CEO of Consumer and SME Banking, North East Asia, with Standard Chartered Bank. He is a former President of the Australian Institute of Banking & Finance and was the inaugural Joint President of Finsia. Michael’s previous roles also include senior executive positions as Group Executive of Westpac Business & Consumer Banking, CEO of National Australia Bank in Australia, CEO of Bank of New Zealand and CEO of Bank of Melbourne. Michael was also Deputy Chancellor of Western Sydney University.

The Public Service Commission acknowledges the Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, the traditional custodians of the land on which our office stands.