Government Sector

The Government Sector Employment Act 2013 establishes the government sector and the Public Service.  The Public Service consists of the Departments and agencies listed in Schedule 1 to the GSE Act.

The components of the Public Service are:

  • Departments – listed in Part 1 of Schedule 1
  • Public Service executive agencies related to departments – listed in Part 2 of Schedule 1
  • Separate Public Service agencies – listed in Part 3 of Schedule 1

PDF Document  To whom the GSE Act applies (PDF 448.2KB)
PDF Document  Diagram of the Public Sector (PDF 17.6KB)
PDF Document  Factsheet on the Government Sector (PDF 75.8KB)
PDF Document  Factsheet on Separate Agencies (PDF 95.9KB)

Schedule 1

Schedule 1 to the Government Sector Employment Act 2013 lists the agencies that form the Public Service.

Web Document  Schedule 1 of the GSE Act
PDF Document Table of Agencies (PDF 29.6KB)

Administrative Arrangements Orders

Administrative Arrangements Orders are issued by the Government under the Constitution Act 1902 to establish and disestablish Public Service agencies and allocate Ministerial responsibilities.

To access the list of Administrative Arrangements Orders, go to the Employment Portal.

The Public Service Commission acknowledges the Gadigal people of the Eora Nation, the traditional custodians of the land on which our office stands.